Share this content
MyCustomer.com

Google retools Buzz security settings

by
6th Apr 2010
Share this content

Following widespread criticism, Google has retuned the security settings on its social networking effort Buzz, providing users with a reset option.

Many users of Buzz were outraged to find that when they initially logged in they had already been set up to follow people based on previous activity and the subsequent backlash greatly overshadowed the launch of Google's foray into social networking.

The magnitude of the furore was such that the US Congress became embroiled in the saga, with members requesting that regulators investigated Buzz for the information that it exposed.

Users will now be informed when they log into Buzz that they are able to customise their security preferences, while the auto-follow system has been scrapped, now providing recommendations rather than connecting users without their consent.

Writing on his blog about the security settings, Google Buzz product manager Todd Jackson said: "Shortly after launching Google Buzz, we quickly realised we didn't get everything right and moved as fast as possible to improve the Buzz experience. Offering everyone who uses our products transparency and control is very important to us."

For more on Google Buzz and your business view our guide.  

Tags:

Replies (0)

Please login or register to join the discussion.

There are currently no replies, be the first to post a reply.